RSS

Which contains some quality pumpkin cake

27 Oct
I made some pumpkin cake the other day. From a real pumpkin! I’m a little bit proud of it. In my previous life, pumpkin came pre-removed from the pumpkin and conveniently squashed (no pun intended) into a 16 oz tin can.
 
They don’t sell pumpkin like that here. So I bought a little pumpkin that decorated our table for a month, and this weekend I watched a youtube video on how to de-pumpkin it, and proceeded to turn said pumpkin into some tasty cake.
 
I brought the cake to school this morning for staff devotions. (Some bring the Word. I bring the cake.) The first grade teacher, who is Czech and frequently offers us commentary on love and marriage, took a bite of it and said, "Mmm…it’s good. You’re ready to get married now."
 
And then our elementary Czech teacher added, "Unless you marry Czech man. Then you have to learn how to make dumplings."
 
hahaha…I’ll be sure to put my pumpkin cake-making skillz on my application…
 
Thursday is Independent Czechoslovak State Day! What does this mean for run-of-the-mill Joe Teacher at CISP? Well, I’ll tell you. It means that the skolnik locks up the school and we cancel classes. And because we’re all about the long weekends, and Czechs don’t "observe" their holidays on Fridays or Mondays to make nice, long weekends, we also get Friday off. This creates what we call "Fall Break."
 
It also means I am going to Spain!
 
Adios amigos!
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 27, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment